Animal Farm, Theatre in the human zoo

Show

Saturday, 6 July at 9 pm

Animal Farm, Theatre in the human zoo

Unclassifiable, random and brilliant, AGORA Theatre’s new production of Animal Farm, originally written by George Orwell, transports and overwhelms. Packed with references, the German language, dance interludes and organised chaos, this daring production is co-directed by the philosopher Felix Ensslin, who grew up in Germany during the political turmoil of the Years of Lead in the 1970s.

100 years after the October Revolution, the historical inspiration behind George Orwell’s Animal Farm, which was published in 1945, seven actors in their enclosed surroundings ask themselves if this text actually reflects their story and that of modern-day Europe.

This back-and-forth between collective political and biographical subjects helps to humanise this version of Animal Farm in its clinical setting, reminding us both of scientific experiments and modern-day industrial farms.

In Animal Farm, George Orwell denounced the propagandistic manipulations of the pig Napoleon (Stalin), used to benefit from the animals’ revolution on the farm belonging to Jones (the Tsar), along with everything from the capitalist order to the individualism of today’s gyms, writing and even masturbation. Animal Farm also expresses the questioning of the human condition, the modern-day processes of selection and the constant repetition of history.

It’s difficult to remain indifferent to it.

The most difficult part of the exercise? Accepting that you don’t understand everything. Animal Farm is clear about this from the beginning, with the line: “the morning star is the evening star. It makes sense but it doesn’t mean anything.”

All you have to do is sit back and be transported by the actors.

Creation:  Agora Theater / Belgium

Text: Felix Ensslin with Mona Becker
Direction Felix Ensslin with Daniela Scheuren

Players: Karen Bentfeld, Galia De Backer, Catharina Gadelha, Roger Hilgers, Joé Keil, Eno Krojanker, Daniela Scheuren

Stage: Céline Leuchter
Costume: Petra Kather
Musical direction: Wellington Barros
Choreography: Catharina Gadelha
Assistant director: Judith Thelen
Lighting Design: Jasper Diekamp
Sound: Christopher Hafer

Running time: 2h

Animal Farm, Théâtre dans le parc humain

Spectacle

Samedi 6 juillet à 21h

Animal Farm, Théâtre dans le parc humain

Inclassable, éparse et brillante, la nouvelle création du Théâtre Agora, Animal Farm d’après Georges Orwell, emporte ou submerge. Truffée de références, de germanophonie, d’intermèdes dansés, de chaos organisé, la mise en scène audacieuse est co-signée par le philosophe Felix Ensslin, enfant des Années de plomb.
100 ans après la Révolution d’Octobre, qui servit de toile de fond historique à « Animal Farm » de George ‘Orwell, publié en 1945, sept comédiens-nes dans leur parc humain se demandent, si ce texte ne raconte pas leur histoire en filigrane et l’Europe d’aujourd’hui.
Ces allers-retours entre le collectif politique et biographique, humanisent cet Animal farm qui se déroule dans un décor clinique, évoquant l’expérience scientifique mais aussi les fermes industrielles.
Dans sa Ferme des Animaux, George Orwell dénonçait les manipulations propagandistes du cochon Napoléon – Staline – pour s’approprier les acquis de la révolution des animaux de la ferme de Jones – le tsar et l’ordre capitaliste jusqu’à l’individualisme des salles de sports de nos jours, de l’écriture ou de la masturbation. Animal Farm traduit aussi ce questionnement sur la condition humaine, les processus actuels de sélection et l’éternel recommencement. Difficile d’y rester indifférent.
L’exercice le plus difficile consistera sans doute à accepter de ne pas tout saisir, Animal Farm livre une clé au début du spectacle en déclarant que «L’étoile du matin est l’étoile du soir. Cela a un sens mais cela n’a pas de signification».
Il suffit donc de se laisser porter par le jeu des comédiens

 

 

Création de Agora Theater / Belgique

Texte: Felix Ensslin et Mona Becker
Mise en scène : Felix Ensslin, Daniela Scheuren

Avec  Karen Bentfeld, Galia De Backer, Catharina Gadelha, Roger Hilgers, Eno Krojanker, Daniela Scheuren, Joé Keil

Scénographie: Céline Leuchter
Lumière : Jasper Diekamp
Son : Christopher Hafer
Costumes : Petra Kather
Direction musicale : Wellington Barros
Chorégraphie: Catharina Gadelha
Assistante mise en scène : Judith Thelen

Durée 2h